Aferro Publication No. 29, Elevator Music 4

Aferro Publication No. 29

Aferro Publication No. 29, Elevator Music 4

Elevator Music 4, curated by Jacob Mandel.

Elevator Music is a continuous rotation of experimental sound art curated for the permanent Elevator Music installation on the second floor of Gallery Aferro. The installation is comprised of a very early Otis Elevator (single digit) from the early 1900s excavated from the basement of Gallery Aferro’s facilities at 73 Market Street. The Elevator was cleaned up, refurbished and equipped with a motion sensor-activated media player. Guests enter the elevator and the audio-works are activated, analogous to the ways we may enter a functioning elevator ready to deliver us to our desired (or undesired) destination. Elevator Music is a space where audio works can become accessible within a visual arts gallery experience. 

The near nine month period that “Elevator Music 4” covers expresses a wide range of musical styles and choices made by curator Jacob Mandel. Having previously participated in Elevator Music himself, Mandel oversaw the project from the Fall of 2017 to the late Spring of 2018 before leaving Gallery Aferro later that summer after 6 years working as Aferro’s Gallery Manager. Through both creative open calls and reaching out to his own network, Elevator Music 4 remains one of Elevator Music’s most prolific iterations.

Music by John Pugh, Ernestus Jiminy Chald, Octonomy, and Brian Oakes.

Elevator Music 4: John Pugh – 09/23/2017 – 10/28/2017

Elevator Music 4: Ernestus Jiminy Chald – 11/11/2017 – 01/12/2018

Elevator Music 4: Octonomy – 02/10/2018 – 03/16/2018
Elevator Music 4: Briak Oakes – 04/07/2018 – 05/26/2018

Published by Gallery Aferro